THE AGEING PROCESS

We recently spent 3 weeks in Canada skiing with a daughter and 2 grand-daughters (aged 5 and 3). We were at Sun Peaks which is about an hour’s flight from Vancouver, and whilst the mountains, snow and skiing conditions were outstanding, the food in the village was absolutely appalling. It was a mix of the worst of American fast foods, and overpriced menus executed by underskilled cooks in a small number of restaurants. We survived mainly on a diet of eggs (dining at home) or chicken wings (eating out). We did have a well equipped kitchen in our condo, but Sun Peaks doesn’t run to a supermarket, and the local general store mainly stocks the frozen versions of what the restaurants had to offer being frozen pizza, frozen hamburgers, frozen chicken parts and so on.

Nevertheless, despite the fact that Sun Peaks seems to be staffed mainly by Australians, we did manage to meet quite a few Canadians, including a fun bunch of Guys from Salmon Arms, who let us share their lunch table in a bar at the foot of the main chair. We found Canadians to be friendly, polite and enthusiastic ambassadors for their country, being ready to talk about how wonderful everything was, and in particular how fantastic had been the Vancouver Winter Olympics. We had 4 days in Vancouver, 2 days on either side of the Sun Peaks trip, and it seems like it would be a wonderful place to live.

A positive aspect for me at Sun Peaks was that they had great discounts for Seniors, being those of us aged over 65. I got 50% discounts on my lift tickets, ski rentals and a number of activities that were available … we even got to “mush” our own 6-huskie dog sled, which was a real highlight of our trip.

What bothered me was that no one ever asked me for proof of age, and whilst I would like to put this down to Canadian politeness, I doubt that this was the real reason.

I have now realized that being 65 is not a problem, as I still seem to be able to do whatever I want to do, though some things not quite as often. I am still skiing, I still go walking in the French Alps in summer, I have started taking horse-riding lessons, I am still business-active, I can still spend a full day building a post and rail fence, and despite joints starting to make their presence known, I seem to be able to cope with everything that I could do when I was younger.

What really does bother me is looking 65 … that’s much harder to cope with.

2 Responses to THE AGEING PROCESS

  1. Peltier says:

    Leslie,

    D’accord, vieillir n’est pas un problème mais quand on est en bonne forme comme vous, Bravo. Il est vrai que vous avez une jeune épouse qui vous chouchoute et vous maintient jeune.

    Le tout est de n’avoir pas de handicap, pas de maladie grave alors la vie est belle et on s’adapte. J’ai découvert, à 80 ans qu’en prenant son temps et en s’économisant un peu ( articulations obligent…) on peut faire plus de choses qu’à 40 ans car on se disperse moins.

    Amitiés,

  2. Les says:

    Gerard,
    A 80 vouse etes une inspiration a mois.
    Les

Leave a Reply

